Posts in Awards
It takes Heart

The Knox County Chamber of Commerce holds their Annual Dinner and Awards Ceremony each January. The Knox County Board of Developmental Disabilities was nominated for and received the Heart Award, which honors a Chamber member that “achieves and maintains architectural design that compliments our community.” The All-Inclusive Playground that has been built at Memorial Park has been a massive project that broke ground in September and was completed in December of 2018. This playground will be a wonderful place for all families to come together to play and make wonderful memories!

Thank you, Knox County for helping us make our community a wonderful place to live, work and play!

Chamber of Commerce Heart Award-1.jpg
Chamber of Commerce Heart Award-3.jpg
Chamber of Commerce Heart Award-4.jpg
Chamber of Commerce Heart Award-6.jpg
Chamber of Commerce Heart Award-7.jpg
Education In Action 2018

For the past 8 years, the Knox County Board of DD has collaborated with ESC Parent Mentor Program to host the "Education In Action" Awards banquet for all of the county schools.  This ceremony gives all teachers across Knox County an opportunity to nominate and honor any student in their classroom.  Teachers nominated 40 students across the county for their hard work in Academics, Arts, Athletics, Community Service, Employment, Extracurricular Activity and Independent Living Skills. 

Awards were given to:

Knox County Career Center- Dakota Welch

Centerburg- Colton Love, Deacon Goulter, Caila Scmitz

East Knox- Dakota Wooden, Freddy Evans, Jonathan Cisco, Alivia Elliott

Fredericktown- Mikail Diagne, Tripp Gray, Carter Hempfield, Hadlee Miller

Mount Vernon- Alexa Hartshorn, Jacob Rivers, Sabrina Dannes, Isabella Carpenter

Clear Fork- Student is recognized under Knox Educational Service Center Group Awards

Knox Educational Service Center- Corey Woods, Savannah Carpenter, Keyon Atkinson, Alexis Darr, Ronnie Andrews, Gage Johnson, Spencer Jones, Austin Martin, Carolyn Parrish, Wayne Rittenhouse, Haven Shelton, Jackson Slater, Dustin Starmer, Vinnie Wilson, Faith Bowers, Madison Flack, Robert Simpson-Rine

Group Awards- Elijah Clark, Cody Hanna, Tyler Morris, Robbie Pyott, Katie Sharp, Will Smith, Grant Yoder

Education In Action 2018-1.jpg
Education In Action 2018-2.jpg
Education In Action 2018-6.jpg
Education In Action 2018-7.jpg
Education In Action 2018-12.jpg
Education In Action 2018-14.jpg
Education In Action 2018-17.jpg
Education In Action 2018-18.jpg
Education In Action 2018-19.jpg
Education In Action 2018-24.jpg
Education In Action 2018-25.jpg
Education In Action 2018-28.jpg

The “Distinguished Service” award is given out each year to honor a professional who always goes above and beyond expectations.  This year’s award winner was Sarah Craft, a special education teacher from Fredericktown Local School District.  She is an exemplary educator and she continually focuses on developing independent living skills for every student she works with.  The Special Education Coordinator stated, “Sarah is tireless with her efforts in addressing the often diverse and intense needs of the students she serves. She is supportive and encouraging with her support staff.  She is quick and continual to celebrate student achievements with every milestone reached, as well as involving, acknowledging and celebrating teachers, custodians, administrators, therapists, secretaries and aides with their partnerships.  She demonstrates care and consideration for all of her shared students with their well-being and development.”  Sarah was touched and honored to receive the award last week at the ceremony.

We would also like to thank Creative Foundations for their ongoing generous support to hold this event!  Your kindness is appreciated!